Outdoor recreation can play a vital role in protecting ournatural resources. When you register your boat, you do your part insustaining resources that promote safe and responsible use of ournation's waters. Your registration dollars also help pay formarinas, boat ramps, lake clean up and much more.

  • WY BoatRegistration Information
  • Watercraft Regulations (PDF)
  • All motorboats powered by propulsion machinery of any type and operated on the waters of this state shall be numbered by the Wyoming Game and Fish Department, Watercraft Section. The types of watercraft that must be licensed include but are not limited to,motorboats, rowboats, sailboats, sailboards, canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, rowing shells, or sculls, all terrain vehicles used in the water, and inflatable craft.

Wyoming Game and Fish Department (WGFD):

The WGFD is responsible for regulating the state boating laws inWyoming.

REGISTRATION/TITLING

All boats propelled by machinery, including gasoline, diesel andelectric motors, and principally operated on Wyoming waters must beregistered with the Wyoming Game and Fish Commission (WGFD).Exceptions to this law include the following:

  • Vessels registered in another state and not in Wyoming for aperiod greater than 90 consecutive days
  • Vessels owned by the United States government, a state or oneof its subdivisions. This does not include vessels used forrecreational purposes.
  • Vessels documented with the United States Coast Guard
  • Documented boats are that are in the Wyoming for a period ofgreater than 90 days have to be registered.

CERTIFICATE OF OWNERSHIP

Boat owners must keep their Certificate of Ownership in a safeplace.

NOTE On the reverse of the Certificate ofOwnership there is an application for the transfer ofownership.

CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION

Upon receipt of the Certificate please note the following:

  • It must be signed and carried onboard when operating thevessel.
  • It is valid for either one or three years and expires onDecember 31st of the final year of registration.
  • The WGFD must be notified within 15 days if the boater changesresidences
  • The WGFD must be notified within 15 days if the vessel isdestroyed or abandoned.

If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Number or decals, youmust apply for a duplicate and submit a processing fee.

Successful registration results in a certificate of number and adecal. Your registration MUST be kept on board the vessel at alltimes. (It is advisable to keep the registration in a dry-bag onboard.) Boat numbers must:

  • be affixed on both sides of the bow
  • be block letters, three inches high and contrasting with thecolor of your boat
  • Letters must be separated from the numbers by a space or ahyphen

For example: WY-1234-A or WY 1234 A. This is a federal and staterequirement.


 

 

Lack of the correct documentation can result in delays andfines.

Make sure all boats are properly marked and documented. It'simportant to keep your papers with the boat - be particularly awarewhen transferring ownership of your vessel. 

 

*Content provided by www.BoaterExam.com