Outdoor recreation can play a vital role in protecting our natural resources. When you register your boat, you do your part in sustaining resources that promote safe and responsible use of our nation's waters. Your registration dollars also help pay for marinas, boat ramps, lake clean up and much more.
The Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Lake Patrol Section is responsible for regulating the state boating laws in Oklahoma.
All boats principally operated on Oklahoma waters must be registered and issued an Oklahoma Certificate of Number (Registration) by the Oklahoma Tax Commission. Exceptions for boat registration include:
In Oklahoma it is a requirement that vessels be titled. Applications for a vessel title must be received within 30 days the purchase or transfer. Vessel owners may operate their boats within the first 30 days following its purchase or transfer; however the original sales receipt must be kept on board the vessel.
Please note that the boat operator must obtain their boat title before they can obtain their certificate of number. To obtain a boat title they must contact the Oklahoma Department of Fish and Wildlife. Boaters must apply for a boat title within 15 days of a boat purchase or transfer.
Boat owners must keep their Certificate of Ownership in a safe place.
NOTE On the reverse of the Certificate of Ownership there is an application for the transfer of ownership.
Boat owners must carry the permanent Certificate of Number onboard when operating.
The Certificate of Number is valid for one or three years from the date of purchase at the discretion of the owner at the time of registration. Vessel registration expires on June 30 of the final year. Once it has expired the boater will need to renew their Certificate of Number. Boat owners who have already had their boats registered will be sent a renewal notice prior to the expiration date.
Successful registration results in a certificate of number, physical boat numbers and a decal. Your registration MUST be kept on board the vessel at all times. (It is advisable to keep the registration in a dry-bag on board.) Boat numbers must:
For example: OK 3498 WR or OK-3498-WR.This is a Federal and state requirement.
Lack of the correct documentation can result in delays and fines.
Make sure all boats are properly marked and documented. It's important to keep your papers with the boat - be particularly aware when transferring ownership of your vessel.
Outboard motors in excess of 10 horsepower must be both titled and registered.
The Certificate of Number for an outboard motor is valid for one or three years from the date of purchase at the discretion of the owner at the time of registration. Vessel registration expires on June 30 of the final year. Once it has expired the boater will need to renew the Certificate of Number for their outboard motor.
Outboard motor owners who have registered their motor are given a registration decal which is to be displayed on the upper rear side of the motor on the right if facing the motor from the front.
*Content provided by www.BoaterExam.com
©2014 RBFF. All Rights Reserved