Outdoor recreation can play a vital role in protecting our natural resources. When you register your boat, you do your part in sustaining resources that promote safe and responsible use of our nation's waters. Your registration dollars also help pay for marinas, boat ramps, lake clean up and much more.
The Energy, Minerals and Natural Resource Department State Parks Division is responsible for regulating the state boating laws in New Mexico.
Titling: All boats 10 feet or more in length must be titled in New Mexico.
Boat owners must keep their Certificate of Ownership in a safe place.
NOTE On the reverse of the Certificate of Ownership there is an application for the transfer of ownership.
Boat owners must have at least a temporary Certificate of Number. Upon receipt of the Certificate of Number please note the following:
Also please note that one must obtain their boat title before they can obtain their certificate of number. The boats have to be physically inspected by MVD before a title can be transferred or issued.
A transfer of the ownership of a boat terminates the certificate of number and title. The new boat owner will apply through the Department within 15 days following the transfer and prior to boat operation for a new number and title.
Successful registration results in a Certificate of Number and a decal. The boat number found on the Certificate of Number has to be permanently affixed or painted on both sides of the boat and must:
For example: NM-1234-BX or NM1234 BX. This is a federal and state requirement.
Lack of the correct documentation may result in delays and fines.
Make sure all boats are properly marked and documented. It is important to keep your papers with the boat - be particularly aware when transferring ownership of your vessel.
*Content provided by www.BoaterExam.com
©2014 RBFF. All Rights Reserved