Find out what the laws are in your state for boating and trailering your boat.
The Reference Guide to State Boating Laws answers a number of questions related to recreational boating safety public law. Topics covered include boating education, operator age, water skiing, boat noise, numbering & titling, personal watercraft,boating under the influence, personal flotation devices and more.Courtesy of the National Association of State Law Administrators(NASBLA).
All persons 12 years of age and older who operate a motorized vessel on Alabama waters are required to have their Alabama Vessel License (also referred to as the Alabama Boat Operator's Certificate, which appears as a "V" class on your driver's license). The operator certification must be in possession at the time of operation.
Many boating fatalities occur because boaters aren't educatedabout boating safety. The Alabama Marine Police believe that aneducated boater is a safer boater.
NOTE: The legal age to operate avessel alone is 14 years old.
You can take your safe boating exam directly on the Internet at BoaterExam.com.Once you pass the exam, your boat operator's certificate will be mailed to you. You can then bring your boat operator's certificate to your local Department of Public Safety, Driver's License Examiner's Office, and they will endorse your driver's license.
*Content provided by www.BoaterExam.com
©2013 RBFF. All Rights Reserved