Outdoor recreation can play a vital role in protecting our natural resources. When you register your boat, you do your part in sustaining resources that promote safe and responsible use of our nation's waters. Your registration dollars also help pay for marinas, boat ramps, lake clean up and much more.
Alaska Department of Natural Resources, Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation:
The Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation is responsible for regulating the State boating laws in Alaska.
All boats propelled by machinery, including gasoline, diesel and electric motors, and principally operated on Alaskan waters must be registered and issued an Alaska Certificate of Number (Boat Registration). The Certificate of Number is valid for three years.Once it has expired the boater will need to renew their Certificate of Number with Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
There is a $50 State fine for not registering a vessel.
Please note that the DMV must be notified within 15 days if the boater changes residences.
Boat owners must keep their Certificate of Ownership in a safe place.
The Certificate of Number and validation decal are issued by the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles.
Boat owners must have at least a temporary Certificate of Number before they can operate in state waters. Upon receipt of the Certificate please note the following:
It must be signed and carried on board when operating the vessel
Boats must be registered and numbered within 30 days of purchase, whether it's a new or used boat purchase.
Successful registration results in a certificate of number,physical boat numbers and a decal. Boat numbers must:
For example: AK-3452-JK or AK 3452 JK.This is a federal and state requirement.
Lack of the correct documentation can result in delays and fines.
Make sure all boats are properly marked and documented. It is important to keep your papers with the boat - be particularly aware when transferring ownership of your vessel.
*Content provided by www.BoaterExam.com
©2014 RBFF. All Rights Reserved